Ready, Steady, Go!

After registering for the online subscription for Watercolour Secrets – I started watching the videos online while waiting for the DVD’s to arrive in the post. The introductory set of videos ended with a demonstration of a monochrome painting of Lake Garda, Italy. The lesson shows how to use a single colour (Ultramarine Blue) + water, diluted to different strengths to achieve different tones.

I attempted this 3 times – in the first one, the sky really was a mess. The 2nd one was better, but I wasn’t happy with the contrast between the foreground mountains and the 2nd series of mountains. So I decided to press on for yet a 3rd round and I am reasonably satisfied with the final results.

What I learned along the way:

  • It’s still not as easy as it looks!
  • Getting the right amount of water and the right amount of paint on the brush takes a lot of practice
  • I need to be more patient with letting each section/layer dry and not to rush onto the next step before the previous section has settled
  • That I am still too much of a perfectionist!
  • But I can do this….with more practice and more patience!

I decided that I could NOT bring myself to start a 4th attempt of the same scene in the same colour, so I ventured into a scene of the Li River from Guilin, Guangxi Province, China, using a micture of  Cadmium Pale Yellow and Cadmium Red Pale Hue. I think it worked OK…

~ by tomorrowslices on May 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
