Boats at Rest

Last weekend I watched the sketching and drawing techniques DVD and ended with some lessons about important aspects of composition for paintings. All I had time for – in a practical sense – was to draw the sketch for one of the paintings that Bob Davies used for demonstrating composition techniques.

The lesson touched on the colours used, but was more about aspects of composition – positioning of the main focal object; not having more than one dominant object; how to draw the observer’s eye towards the focal point; placing the main components of the picture off-centre in the 1/3, 2/3 area of the canvas, etc. There wasn’t much detailed instruction on the actual colour mixing and specifics of the painting, so by and large I had to work it out as I went along. I would like to come back to this scene after watching a few more of the lessons to see if I can do a better job of it, but at this stage I am quite pleased with this effort.

After a busy weekend, I started watching some of the lessons on painting skies – different types of washes, single and multi-coloured. I hope to find time to put these lessons into practice during the week ahead.

~ by tomorrowslices on May 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
