A desert experience

This afternoon I tackled the lesson on painting a scene from the Arizona desert. I am quite pleased with the result, altho’ I had a few shakey moments with the sky. Afterwards, I looked online in the course gallery (Watercolour Secrets)for the same scene as completed by other people and found I had missed out on some the rocks and stones scattering the largest mountain – I will blame it on erosion and global warming! I think I found the dry-on-dry technique a bit easier than wet-on-wet – I guess it feels as if I have control – but this is probably an illusion!

I am pleased that this one was a bit easier than my attempts at Mt Fuji – that was a real mission, and I can’t say that the thought of painting this particular scene more than once is very appealing. But I enjoyed doing the first one and am so pleased that it turned out OK.

~ by tomorrowslices on July 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
