Down in the Valley

This weekend, my painting project was a picture of the the Langdale Valley. I first watched the lesson (for the 3rd time) without doing any painting, and then watched and painted at the same time. But even with pausing the DVD every so often, I missed some of the key features. I felt that I had rushed through it to try to keep pace with the instructional video. I wasn’t 100% satisfied with my first attempt, so I tackled it again, this time on my own without the DVD and using my own earlier attempt as a guide.

I tried more of a free-hand approach with the initial sketch and that was my first mistake. Then my colours just didn’t seem to come right and I kept going back to try to fix things. I completely lost the plot with the foreground, and at that point I admitted defeat and decided that the first painting wasn’t that bad after all! I touched up a few things here and there and it will have to do for now.

It is with tentative pleasure that I present (my ORIGINAL rendition of) the Langdale Valley!

[I am not going to upload my 2nd attempt….]

~ by tomorrowslices on July 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
