Trees…..

I am definitely having a more enjoyable (and hopefully, successful) time learning how to paint trees than the exercises with skies and mountains! Probably because there are specific techniques and “structures” to follow – whereas skies and mountains are a bit vague and unstructured. There rears the head of the analyst and structured-thinking left-brain again.

Here are a collection of some of the trees I have been practicing – some are better than others, and some were rushed more than others!

When I was shopping at Marie’s the other day, I forgot to buy Masking Fluid, which is used a lot in the tree tutorials, so I had to put on hold the painting of the tree pictures until a return visit to Marie’s to check out the Masking fluid. I managed to find some – and it is about 50% the price of online stores overseas (just not sure how old it is and maybe it has already expired!) Also noticed that there are “Chinese” versions of most of the products – will have to experiment with some of them to see what their quality is like. So far, I am very happy with the quality of the watercolour paper that I bought last time.

So here is my first “Completed” painting from the section on Trees – I am relatively happy with it – there are a few things I would do differently, and I definitely rushed through some of the areas where I probably should ahve waited a bit longer to let the paint dry!

~ by tomorrowslices on August 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
