Autumn Trees

It is definitely not autumn in Shanghai, but this is my favourite painting from the Watercolour Secrets DVD’s (so far). I love the light and the colours and the warmth in the painting.

Initially I struggled a bit with the masking fluid for the leafy areas – I tried to use a sponge to apply the masking fluid, but leafy areas ended up as big white blobs. I abandonded the picture and the next time around, I used a cotton bud for the leafy bits. I bought a cheap set of caligraphy brushes from the local supermarket today to apply the masking fluid in the larger areas like the birch trunks. Masking fluid wrecks your paint brushes, and there is only so much paint that one can apply with a cotton bud or a chopstick! I read somewhere that washing the brush immediately in dish washing liquid helps to remove the masking fluid, and it does, but I think a specific brush for the task is still the correct way to go.

~ by tomorrowslices on August 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Autumn Trees”

  1. hello, love the vibrant colour, great sense of light, go girl you are doing amazingly.

  2. Thanks, V – always nice to get your input! Remember you are one of the people that inspired me to start painting!

Leave a Reply

 
