Dabbling in looseness

I have become more and more fascinated by the style of watercolour paintings that is usually referred to as a “loose” style. I have never been a fan of the totally abstract, but this style intrigues me – the way in which the artists manage to use a “loose” collection of brush strokes to hint at the subject matter and allow the viewer to imagine the rest.

I recently discovered a UK artist, Jean Haines, who demonstrates this style so well, and have totally fallen in love with her paintings. She also has a blog and a book and a few DVD’s – I have ordered her book on painting with Colour and Light and can’t wait to dive into it.

In the meantime I have signed up with Paint my Photo, who have created a forum for those wanting to explore and grow in the area of this loose style of painting. So far my attempts are not very successful, but I guess we all have to start somewhere. This is a great place to share ideas, learn tips, get critique and suggestions from others and I am learning a lot.

Here are two of my attempts at painting a single rose in the loose style, based on one of the reference photos on the site: What I haven’t posted are the many, many, MANY attempts before I plucked up the courage to consider these two as worthy of a mention. I have used up many, many sheets of paper in the effort to produce something that at least looks a little like a rose. Guess I still need a LOT of practice!

~ by tomorrowslices on August 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
