Let 100 flowers bloom…

Painting flowers in a loose style seems to come more easily than trying to re-interpret a landscape from a “loose” perspective, but hopefully I will get there some day (soon). I am learning lots about pigment and mixes and lost and found edges – still doesn’t come naturally, but hopefully some of the myriad of trials and failed attempts are gradually sinking into my brain.

Still trying to come to grips with the fact that there are no CUT, COPY and PASTE or UNDO options when it comes to watercolours. Usually fiddling leads to further disaster instead of repair! Often what worked well on the first attempt ends up only being so-so on the 2nd attempt and positively dreadful on the 3rd try.

Am learning heaps about careful planning, minimising over-confidence, my endless need for patience and that LESS is definitely MORE.

I have come to the conclusion that my definition of a painting that I am satisfied with is one that:

  • I would consider framing and displaying in my home
  • I would be prepared to give to someone else

What I would really love is to be able to complete the same painting more than once and still achieve a satisfactory result – but I am not there yet!

Latest pics – gorgeous cherries from a photo by Ann B. on PMP and en exercise exploring colour mixing from Hazel Soan’s Essence of Watercolour.

~ by tomorrowslices on October 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
