Emerging from silence…(and winter!)

When I started this blog, my intention was to add some notes about my journey back to creativity. Along the way, I have realised that blogging about painting is far less rewarding, but more time consuming that spending time painting, so I have become neglectful in updating this journal. The intention is still there, but I need to set more realistic goals about blog posts and updates without losing quality painting time, finding a balance between the two processes.

I have also realised that our creative journey goes through stages and seasons, and over time these will grow and change. I have spent the last few months as an avid follower of the “Loose Group” on Paint my Photo – a group of watercolour artists that are learning together to “loosen up”. Every month a series of images are set up so that everyone can attempt the same set of images and the resulting diverse selection of paintings are fascinating and encouraging to see. I have learnt so much from this group and the wonderful artists that contribute and comment and encourage.

Trusting that Spring is finally here….

From a reference photo by Nicola on PMP

More tulips...

~ by tomorrowslices on April 2, 2012.

4 Responses to “Emerging from silence…(and winter!)”

  1. Sad read, but the painting is very alluring. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

    • Thanks for commenting – not sure why you found it a sad read… My blog has been quiet and it has been winter and now I am blogging again and spring has arrived 🙂

  2. Some of my favourites of yours Dawn…. these tulips weren’t easy were they?? I love the light you captured on these especially the top one. I agree about painting time…. we can all spend too much time on line talking about it and not doing!!!

    The group is very quiet at the moment. am trying to spend some time getting myself organised for when I finish work…. am showing some pieces in an exhibition for the new group I’ve joined on 12th May and then possibly another one on 26th May, so need to decide which paintings to use , then get them mounted and framed!!

    • Sounds exciting – your paintings are really lovely, Judith – all the best for those exhibitions – I am sure your paintings will do really well.
      Your style is one of the first things I noticed and loved when I joined ID&P and then I “followed” you and found Jean Haines and PMP! So I am very grateful for your influence in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

 
