Building with colour

At the moment my favourite palette of colours to paint with are: Turquoise, Indigo, Quin Gold and Orange! I love the way these colours “play” together….

I used these colours with great abandon in this representation of the Pantheon in Paris (based on a ref photo by Laura on Paint My Photo).

The Pantheon in Paris

I am still struggling to keep my initial washes light and “ethereal”, with the result that all my paintings end up very bright and a bit “overworked” – I call it creating texture! I also added salt and use some cling film, but these textures became a bit lost as the coloured layers piled on….

~ by tomorrowslices on April 6, 2012.

2 Responses to “Building with colour”

  1. Thanks for doing me the honour of painting my photo. Love your interpretation of this. Laura x

Leave a Reply

 
