Less is more

On a recent holiday to Thailand, to my dismay, I realised that I could not capture the whole experience in a single painting.

I would so love to paint the sunsets, the gorgeous sea in all its colours and moods, the limestone cliffs and mountains, the fishermen in their boats, the bright beach umbrellas, the myriad of tropical trees and plants and flowers, the cosy thatched cottages, the incredible coral and tropical fish that we viewed while snorkelling….. all in one painting – and in a loose style!

Sigh – just not possible.

I came close, but not close enough – still missing the palm trees, the cottages, and….., AND this picture did not turn out at all the way that I wanted it to….it’s just too orange! AND I don’t like the reflection of the sunset in the water…

Note to self:

Less is more!

Thai beach scene at sunset

On my to-do list of subjects to paint are about 10 different scenes from our holiday….

~ by tomorrowslices on April 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
