Welcome…

This is one of my favourite paintings – the reference photo was one of Ruth Archer’s, that was shared on Paint My Photo – all her photos are amazing. My first few versions of this did not come together and after some very helpful and vital feedback from the Loose Group on PMP, I “went back to the easel” and managed to pull this version together.

In the process I learnt a lot about myself – how I am motivated by the challenge to improve something until it “is perfect”. Once again I realised that it can never be “perfect enough” to meet my unrealistic standards, so I have to let that go, but the motivation still remains to keep pushing myself even if it means painting the same scene over and over again until I like it.

I also learnt that I need to slow down the process of painting – I am always in too much of a hurry to finish. Yes, there is an aspect to watercolour painting where one needs to paint quickly while the paper has the right degree of “wetness”, but with a bit more upfront planning, one can paint in sections – working on one area while another is drying. I am learning to take my time (ok – this is still a work-in-progress!) and learning to enjoy the process of seeing the painting grow and develop.

Entrance to a Greek Tavern - photo by Ruth Archer

~ by tomorrowslices on April 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “Welcome…”

  1. Alluring painting. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

Leave a Reply

 
