And it is a …..

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No it’s a ………

Untitled

The problem with loose painting is that it can be a tad on the abstract side. I’m not really an abstract kind of person, so I still find it a bit weird that I’ve become more and more drawn towards a looser way of painting. Unfortunately one of the outcomes is this is that a loose painting is open to interpretation – and often defies interpretation by one’s nearest and dearest!

Regarding this painting, my husband didn’t have a clue as to what it was. An artistic friend of mine managed to come up with 4 possibilities, one of which was exactly right; and her husband came up with an elaborate description of a landscape with trees and mountains an who knows what else.

This is one of the few paintings that I have done that I liked on the first attempt – I love the colours, I didn’t put a whole lot of thought into it….and it just happened.

Sigh – wish it was always so straight-forward. But I seem to be reminded from all directions that most of the time it’s about practise, practise, practise.

~ by tomorrowslices on May 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
