The Strawberry Project

ID&P recently released a demo/set of notes by Karl Fletcher for painting strawberries. The content was great, but I wanted to create my own spin on it (there goes that rebel again….)

Fortunately I had some real-life strawberries on hand and managed to restrain myself from eating them until I had finished painting.

Strawberries

I initially wanted a composition of 5 strawberries, but after a few “in-the-bin” versions, I settled on a composition of 3. I’m mostly happy with how they have turned out, but I would have liked them to be even looser – I kept going back in to add a touch of colour here, a further shade there, some further blending over there. At least I let each layer dry and managed to wait patiently between those “fix-up” moments. Now that I “know” the subject matter a bit better – altho’ the actual fruit have now been consumed 🙂 – perhaps I will try them again for a more casual, looser, freer, “wilder” approach.

I was pleased to hear Vinita Pappas mention that she sometimes paints the same painting 3 or 4 times until she is happy with it – this means that I am in good company. One of the exercises she showed us was to take a simple subject and paint it 4 times – Tight, Loose, Looser and Loosest – in that way there is a deliberate/noticeable transition of looseness and you have to make a conscious effort to explore ways in which to loosen up to achieve a different end result. Because the subject is simple, one doesn’t need to think about composition and other complications, and can focus on creating a looser feel.

~ by tomorrowslices on May 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
