Unlocking colour

A “quick” study from a photo by Anja on PMP – I was trying out some new colours that I bought recently and they worked well with this subject.

Unlocking colour
Cerulean Blue, Cobalt Violet, Green Gold, Indigo (and a few others!)

I called it was a “quick” study, but at the moment I am having to work “little bit by little bit” on many different paintings all at once. The humidity is really high and everything is taking forever to dry, especially the paintings where I have used salt to add texture. As a result, our living room is filled with “in-process” pieces and I am having to practise patience and restraint and am learning to leave each one at peace for a few more hours/days to wait for the surfaces to dry. This means that even a “quick” study may take a few days from start to finish.

~ by tomorrowslices on June 26, 2012.

5 Responses to “Unlocking colour”

  1. Hi Dawn. Lovely work on this one. I really like your new colours. That cobalt violet looks interesting and green gold is one of my favs. Have no idea how you cope with the humidity though. Take care Laura x

  2. Yummy Dawn will get round to commenting on the group as well, am just going about once a week now, have you tried a hairdryer or is it just too hot for that? My so was in Shanghai on business at the beginning of May, said it was awesome!!

  3. I’ve become a bit of a purist – don’t want to get into the habit of using a hair-dryer – I am trying to learn to slow down and not rush things and just to enjoy the process!
    Re the salt and the humidity – I came across some comments on the internet about using salt in a humid climate – it actually absorbs the water from the surrounding air! This explains why my paintings appeared even wetter a few days later. I am going to have to rethink using this technique during the summer months – someone made a comment that the salt would continue to absorb water even from behind a glass frame – the problem is that it never crystalises, so you can’t ever get it off!

  4. Hi Dawn – just came across your blog via Kaye Parmenter’s blog! Didn’t realise you had a blog, it’s great, have added you to my side bar x

Leave a Reply

 
