Holiday sketches

There are some disadvantages to randomly grabbing a holiday palette without careful colour selection – know I remember why I chucked some of these pans out of my regular set!

But there are some advantages too….Working out how to get the colours I needed from my rather limited selection led to some new discoveries and finding some old acquaintances!

  • Ultramarine Blue & Burnt Sienna for various greys and browns
  • Diox violet & Burnt Sienna for gorgeous chocolate browns
  • Add a dash of Yellow Ochre to the mix above for thatched roofs
  • Cerulean Blue & Sap Green create the beautiful colours of the Andaman Sea

20121226-173519.jpg
20121226-172829.jpg
The only colour I could not reproduce is the pale white sand – so the blank paper will have to do!

==Note: I used sea water to rinse the brushes to see what effect that would have on the paint (yes – I know that the salt residue might get into the paint pans, but this is just a holiday set, so not a problem!) – lots of lovely texture added using the sea water this way.

~ by tomorrowslices on December 26, 2012.

One Response to “Holiday sketches”

  1. I use that combination too

Leave a Reply

 
