Experimental Carnations (updated)

Exercise from Jean Haines' DVD Watercolour Passion

Exercise from Jean Haines’ DVD Watercolour Passion

In order to get back into the swing of things at the start of a new year, I decided to re-watch Jean Haines’ DVD Watercolour Passion.

I have also made a decision to

  • Be less critical of my own work
  • Have more fun
  • Stop trying to produce a masterpiece on each and every piece of paper
  • See each “flop” – perceived or otherwise – as a learning opportunity
  • Do more exercises.

So in the spirit of the above – I am not going to highlight the inadequacies of this experimental painting – in any case, I actually quite like the result!

Thought(s) for the day:

Everyone seems to view/critique their own work (me included!) in a negatively prejudiced manner, even when other people rave about it – it’s almost as if everyone is looking at different paintings.

I think that at times we get too close to our own work, so we see all the itty/iffy bits that bother and mock us. But others stand back and see the painting as a whole and love it just for what they can see and enjoy in the result. They don’t have the emotional investment that the artist has and recklessly enjoy what the self-critical artist will probably always see as imperfect.

~ by tomorrowslices on January 9, 2013.

2 Responses to “Experimental Carnations (updated)”

  1. Great food for thought in this post Dawn…. all fair points!! What I try to do in my own work is to see the improvements…. I will never be where I want to be, but that’s a good thing and I can really live with that. But I do like to see myself moving on and I do that by recognising little glimpses of things… may be only a teeny area in a painting but it is there nonetheless. I have not managed a full painting for weeks now and am getting a bit p…ed of with it… I am trying to do different subjects and they aren’t working for me but am trying not to beat myself up too much about it and I will go back to my comfort zone and do something I am confident with then go back to my difficult subjects and try them again. Just look for glimpses in your carnation and you will see lots… there is so much improvement to be happy with now (this being a prime example)…..you are getting to grips with the techniques and little by little you will find it is becoming second nature to know which edges to wash away, which to keep, where to add water, where to invite the colour in, it’s just practice!!

    • Hey Judith – sorry to hear that you are going through a slump too – I guess it happens and we just need to see it as a passing phase and as you put it so succinctly “recognising little glimpses of things” that are good. My second nature hasn’t quite kicked in yet – you will understand what I mean when you see my next post – it should make you smile (maybe laugh?).

      I still think I should slow down more – the trouble is getting everything in place while the paper is the right shade of wet and forgetting all those “second nature” bits. Also, once I’ve found something that is working (in a painting which as a whole has not worked), I quickly rush onto a new one to try to apply the “working” thing, and then hit some other snags. I am trying to paint every day now, and this has increased my enthusiasm (and expectations!) so it is making me even more determined to “get things right”,

      Don’t get me wrong – I’m not depressed about it, but I do wish i could be a little more consistent! So I totally understand your frustration. Looking forward to seeing your next paintings – they’re in you and they will happen – and sooner and better than you think!

Leave a Reply

 
