Feathered friends

My blog has been sidelined in a spate of busyness on the work scene. Not much time for painting and even less time for blogging.

At the beginning of January I took the plunge and registered for the watercolour diploma course through the London College of Art – more about that another time. I set myself a goal of completing my first assignment by the end of February and made it with a few hours to spare.

Here is Big Red (photo reference by Gary Jones on PMP). Big Red is part of my first assignment – using predominantly warm colours with some hints of cool colours to add contrast.

Big Red
And here is Chubby – my owl with mumps! (photo reference by A Rijkeboer on PMP). Chubby wasn’t part of my assignment, but I love the photo and wanted to try to capture the intensity in his eyes.

Chubby

~ by tomorrowslices on March 2, 2013.

4 Responses to “Feathered friends”

  1. Lovely paintings, Dawn. Love the owl’s eyes. Good luck with the course. Keep us all up to date.

  2. Brilliant Dawn really like the cockerel!! Great news about you enrolling for the course, will be interested to see how you get on

Leave a Reply

 
