Poppy-ing out

More Brusho experimenting…. from a reference photo by Nicola B on PMP – using techniques from Joanne Boon Thomas’ DVD – Brusho Secrets. Still learning….. In this one I have used wax to preserve the highlights but lost some of the wonderful textured by over-watering!

Poppy

Brusho Poppy

~ by tomorrowslices on June 16, 2013.

9 Responses to “Poppy-ing out”

  1. This is so beautiful šŸ™‚

  2. A fine poppy capture in Brusho. Makes me think I need to try harder with it and not give up as I have done so far

    • Thank you, Lorraine – yes, you should have a go – have you seen some of Joanne’s videos and samples – they are so inspiring, but I have a long, LONG way to go before I produce anything that good. it all comes down to practice…. as always!

  3. Hi Dawn. Just been catching up with what you have been up to lately. Great to see what you covered on your course. Loved the fish. This brusho poppy is fab. Have no idea how brusho works but it looks trickier than watercolour to me. Anyway really glad to see you are still enjoying your art. Take care. Laura x

    • Thanks, Laura – are you back from your visit to SA and the elephants – did they meet your expectations? I am enjoying Brusho, but am still at the “play” stage, trying to see how it behaves – now I need to start to do some “real” pictures with it, taking all the other “what makes a good painting” stuff into consideration!

      • Sorry Dawn only just popped back. Hope all is well with you as just seen you have not posted in a while. I don’t do the rounds in blogland as I once did. SA was fabulous thanks. Hope you are still playing with your brusho and watercolours. Take care.

  4. You are really doing well with the Brusho Dawn… it is such a lovely medium isn’t it? Joanne’s book and DVD are just great and so helpful, I think playing is just what we need to do with it… things will happen from there am sure once as you say we get more experienced in how it works!! The poppy looks super!!

    • Thanks for your kind comments, Judith – yes, I probably should be prepared to “play” more without expecting a masterpiece, but I’m too impatient!!!

Leave a Reply

 
