Halcyon days

Kingfisher (ref: Gary Jones on PMP)

Kingfisher (ref: Gary Jones on PMP)

I knew about halcyon days, but only recently found out that the term also refers to kingfishers.

1. calm; peaceful; tranquil: halcyon weather.
2. rich; wealthy; prosperous: halcyon times of peace
3. happy; joyful; carefree: halcyon days of youth.
4. of or pertaining to the halcyon or kingfisher.
5. mythical bird, usually identified with the kingfisher, said to breed about the time of the winter solstice in a nest floating on the sea, and to have the power of charming winds and waves into calmness.
6. any of various kingfishers, especially of the genus Halcyon.

I love these little birds – I am sure it has a lot to do with their gorgeous colouring; that lovely contrast between bright orange and blue. I was hoping for a “looser” version, but couldn’t quite there, so he’s a little more “stiff” than I would like him to be.

I have struggled to get back into the painting zone after some time away and I seem to have lost the ability to “see” and interpret an image in a looser way. I have found that I tend to tighten up when I lose confidence. So while this little guy is not quite what I want him to be, at least he has given me the opportunity to get back on the road to “finding my stroke” again.

~ by tomorrowslices on August 13, 2013.

5 Responses to “Halcyon days”

  1. I had a different image for the Halcyon bird in mind. I wrote my version into a book I completed last year. I was thinking more of a seagull-type bird. I have never found any connection to the kingfisher. Hmm. Interesting. And, I wonder why. The nest upon the sea would be a good image.

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting – you are probably right: the mythical halcyon is more likely to be gull-like, but there does seem to be some sort of link back to the kingfisher. Maybe a sea-faring relation?

      • I’d like to meet with someone educated in Greek myth to better verify the connection if there is one…which I presume there is since the two words are plainly associated and printed with each other:P

  2. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
