Getting the mood right

From a painting point of view, the last few  months have been very slow. The continuous grind of work pressures plus travelling back to SA to get our China visas renewed took the usual toll on my painting time and motivation.

I have been working on my latest assignment for London College of Art – all about creating atmosphere and mood – and it took a LONG time to achieve the right mood. Not helped by jet-lag and my general grumpiness and moodiness from work stresses, I might add. But somewhere along the way, I got into the mood of it all and I am very pleased with the results.

So here are my two moody paintings:

Simply Venice

Simply Venice

[From my own photo taken from a vaporetto on the way to Murano during my first visit to Venice in June this year]

Snowy Day Blues

Snowy Day Blues

From a lovely photo of Sint-Romboutstoren, Mechelen by ESP on PaintMyPhoto

~ by tomorrowslices on October 9, 2013.

2 Responses to “Getting the mood right”

  1. Wow Dawn these are incredible pieces. You absolutely nailed atmosphere and mood – very successfully done.

Leave a Reply

 
