Silent but still breathing…..and creating….

In the many months since my last blog post before hibernation, my creative journey has continued, albeit a little sporadically and with a few detours and off-road ventures. Sometimes it’s been a question of trying to take on too much all at once, or of finding that life has a nasty habit of getting in the way of my intentions. Over this time of blog-silence I’ve come to a clearer understanding – for now – of where I want my art to go and so I have begun to put a few things in place to help me get there.

I am nearing the end of my Watercolour Diploma with the London Art College: 5 assignments down, 2 to go. I started in January 2013, but have needed the full 2 years to complete the assignments. My main problem is that I tend to “get stuck” on a specific painting and then spend a lot of time redoing over and over again it until it pleases me. This means that there are often big gaps between posting of assignments and it has made the course drag on far too long. In previous posts I’ve mentioned that I want to give some feedback about the course, but once again I am going to leave that for a future date!

A0. Fruitfulness - small

Fruitfulness – based on one of ESP’s photos on Paint My Photo

My preferred painting style remains loose or expressive watercolours, but I’ve realised that I need to improve my drawing skills so that I can do a better job of capturing the essence of a subject in order to portray it more loosely. Seems like a bit of a contradiction, but it makes sense to me! I have become tired of hearing the voice in my head “I can’t draw this….” or “I can’t paint that” – I need to get over that already! So I am taking a deliberate detour into drawing, with an emphasis on detailed drawing and of the goal of slowing down. I might not be able to create so many pieces of art, but I hope that there will be progress in the overall quality and consistency of my art. I discovered and wandered into the Drawing Academy and have found it to be a rich and detailed resource for acquiring better drawing skills. I am slowing working my way through the lessons and am really enjoying the change of media as well as the change of pace.

Eyes

Megan’s eyes – from Alex Lee Johnson’s photo on PMP

We all need a little inspiration along the way, and no one inspires quite like Danny Gregory – so I signed up for Sketchbook Skool – and having been challenged and spurred on by the various instructors in Semester 1, promptly enrolled for Semester 2 and am very excited to be finding a way to give my art more a more central and meaningful place in my everyday life. I usually spend too much time waiting for “the right moment” to draw, to paint, to create. Sketchbook Skool has inspired me to continuously be on the lookout for drawing “moments” and ideas.

Ironing

Drawing the Ironing

Over the next few weeks I’ll add some of the paintings I’ve done during the silent months and start blogging about the next phase of my art journey. I think it is going to be exciting and I am looking forward to whatever is just around the next corner!

~ by tomorrowslices on August 5, 2014.

7 Responses to “Silent but still breathing…..and creating….”

  1. Your work is beautiful. I found as you did, I really needed better drawing skills. Glad to hear you are taking the drawing seriously. Best wishes for school!

  2. Love that you are taking an opportunity to analyze your art and making plans to take it to another level. The drawing academy is very interesting and bravo on your drawing, the eyes have it. Like the iron too, nice loose sketch – we all know that scene! Don’t mind if I say so, but your painting was a lovely piece.

    • Thank you Mary – it feels good to be back! I feel that I’ve got new direction and am excited about where it’s all going.

    • I thought I had sent a reply a few days ago, but I guess I was wrong! Apologies for the late reply, Mary – I really appreciate your comments and continued encouragement, especially with me disappearing from the blog world for a few months.

    • And now I see that I did actually reply……. – I wish the WordPress iPad app was a little more user-friendly in how it displays the comments and replies!

      • So funny! I’m always happy to hear from you and glad to receive two notes this beautiful morning! Hope you have a wonderful creative day ~

Leave a Reply

 
