Reminiscence

Paint My Photo (PMP) has been running a competition to support the Music Man Project, which provides a unique music service for people with a learning disability, difficulty or special educational need. Composer and musician, David Stanley, heads up the Music Man project and has composed 8 untitled pieces of music for the competition; the competition is for artists to listen to the individual pieces of music and create a painting that they feel reflects its mood.

I love this idea – it is the along the same lines as my Painted Quotes series – reading words or listening to music and then expressing the scene and/or emotion through a piece of art. I love reading, I love beautiful expressive music – there are so many lines from books that I would love to paint……. and this competition provided a wonderful opportunity to express the beauty of the music in a painting. As usual, I had great plans to paint more than one of the “musical poems”, but I ran out of time and narrowly crept in with only one painting on the last day of entry. However – nothing to stop me from challenging myself to create the other pieces in my own time and outside of the competition – just add it to my always increasing, “Things to paint” list!


Reminiscence

Reminiscence

All the musical poems that David Stanley composed are beautiful and expressive in their own right, but the one that appealed to me the most had a nostalgic air – a sense of time passing by; of things changing, nothing staying quite the same; with hints of sadness and longing. It captured my imagination and reminded me of Daphne du Maurier’s “Rebecca”. Who can forget the iconic first line

Last night I dreamed of Manderley….

and the description of the stately splendour of this great house, once so filled with life and gaiety, now abandoned and only visited in dreams.

A photo by Alison F of PMP provided the overgrown sense of wildness and impact of the effects of time that I was looking for to portray the sense of something lost, something remembered; a wistfulness and longing for earlier times of grandeur. Painted with watercolours and watercolour pencils.

~ by tomorrowslices on September 1, 2014.

One Response to “Reminiscence”

  1. What a beautiful painting – an awesome piece of work for such a worthy cause. Love it!

Leave a Reply

 
